2019 Fall Class

Master Watershed Steward Certification prepares volunteers that help protect, restore, and aid in the conservation of local watersheds within their own communities. This course will teach the skills needed to assess residential stormwater issues such as: understanding soil profiles, GIS land application, and other citizen science based tools required to apply best management practices to help treat stormwater related conditions. In becoming certified, you will be a part of a network of local professionals and volunteers who work to reduce stormwater pollution.

UME and HCC are in partnership to present this year’s class. You can Click Here to see HCC’s course description.

Classes will be held at University of MD Extension, 3300 N. Ridge Road, Suite 240, Ellicott City.

Howard Community College Class Currently Available for Registration —

Fall 2019 Course Outline
(Subject to changes due to weather, etc.)

  • Module 1, Tuesday, September 3, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, The Chesapeake Bay Watershed
  • Module 2, Tuesday, September 10, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Watershed Science and Land Use Change
  • Module 3, Tuesday, September 17, 6:30 -8:30 pm, Introduction to Water Systems
  • (Field trip) Saturday, September 21, 9:00 am – 12 pm, Storm Water Tour
  • Module 4, Tuesday, September 24, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Residential Pollution Solutions and Introduction to the Other Water Systems
  • Module 5, Tuesday, October 1, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Pollution Solutions
  • Module 6, Tuesday, October 8, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Clean Water Howard and Its Incentive Programming
  • Session 7, Tuesday, October 15, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Stormwater Infiltration: Rain Barrels, Conservation Landscaping and Rain Gardens
  • (Field work) Saturday, October 19, 9:00 – 1:00, Class Project Work
  • Session 8, Tuesday, October 22, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
  • Session 9, Tuesday, October 29, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, The Basics of Biological Monitoring Stream Monitoring and Assessment
  • Session 10, Saturday, November 2, 9:00 am – 11:00 am, Soils
  • Session 11, Tuesday, November 5, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Property Assessment Tools
  • Session 12, Tuesday, November 12, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Managing the Project
  • Session 13, Tuesday, November 19, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Class Reports on Results of Neighborhood Source Assessments
  • Session 14, Tuesday, November 26, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Class Reports on Results of Home Site Assessments
  • Session 15, Tuesday, December 3, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Funding Your Stewardship Activities
  • Session 16, Tuesday, December 10, 6:30 – 8:30 pm, Stewards and Public Engagement