Meet Our Advisory Committee

The principal purpose of the Howard County WSA Advisory Committee is to assist the Watershed Stewards Academy in empowering the Howard County community to improve the quality of local waterways.

Committee Members

James (Sam) Stribling, Chair
Director, Aquatic Ecology & Watershed Assessment, Tetra Tech, Inc.

John McCoy, Vice-Chair
Watershed Manager, Columbia Association

Barbara Schmeckpeper, Recording Secretary
Master Watershed Steward

Georgia Eacker
Principal Agent Associate, University of Maryland Extension

Kelly MacBride-Gill
Master Watershed Steward

Peter Mattejat
Environmental Manager, Maryland Transportation Authority, Office of Engineering & Construction, Environmental Division

Terry Matthews
WSA Coordinator, University of Maryland Extension

Mark Richmond
Chief, Stormwater Management Division, Howard County Department of Public Works

Mike Calvert
Master Watershed Steward

Amanda Rockler
Central Maryland Regional Watershed Restoration Specialist, University of Maryland Extension

Thomas Colantuno
Community Member

Board meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month at the University of Maryland Howard County Extension Office (3300 North Ridge Road, Suite 240, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043). If you are interested in attending a meeting, please reach out to the Chair, Sam Stribling, at